Can You Bounce the Ball Before Serving in Pickleball?

The popularity of pickleball has increased recently. It’s exciting, fun, and simple to pick up. Nonetheless, there are some guidelines that participants must adhere to. Whether you can bounce the ball before serving is one of the most hotly contested ones among pickleball fans. Although it might appear insignificant, this can significantly impact your game!

can you bounce the ball before serving in pickleball
Ron Alvey – Shutterstock

Let’s investigate this subject further to determine whether or not it is OK to bounce the ball before serving in pickleball.

Can You Bounce the Ball Before Serving in Pickleball?

Pickleball is a sport that players of all ages and skill levels may enjoy. Tennis-like in nature, the ball must bounce before being served (drop serve). As a result, learning the game is made simpler for new players.

During serving, always try to hit the ball as high as possible before it bounces off the court, preventing your opponent from returning the favor. You can employ various strategies when playing pickleball, for instance, throwing the ball over your opponent’s head or using your body to stop shots.

Check out our blog: How many pickleball courts fit on a tennis court?

Is It Legal To Bounce The Ball Before You Serve In Pickleball?

Tennis, badminton, and table tennis elements all combine in pickleball. Generally, the net at the center is lowered to 34 inches on a badminton-sized court. Whether it is legal to bounce the ball before you serve in pickleball has been debated for some time.

is it legal to bounce the ball before you serve in pickleball
eyecrave productions – iStock

According to official pickleball rules, bouncing the ball before serving is allowed if it does not interfere with your opponent’s ability to return it or intentionally distract them from their serve. However, some tournaments may disallow this technique due to its potential to disrupt play or cause confusion among players.

In conclusion, although bouncing the ball before serving in pickleball may be allowed by official rules and regulations, some tournaments may choose to disallow this technique due to its potential for disruption or confusion on the court. Ultimately, it is up to individual tournament organizers and referees whether they allow players to bounce their balls before serving in pickleball matches.

How Does Serving Work in Pickleball Before Bouncing?

In pickleball, serving is a crucial aspect of the game. You must be able to serve the ball so your opponent can return it over the net. You can serve in various ways, and each has benefits and drawbacks of its own.

Tossing the ball above your head and letting it fall toward the earth is one way to serve. A “hitscan” service is what is used in this manner. If you execute this right, it will take some time for your opponent to react, making it difficult for them to hit the ball.

Another method is to lob the ball directly toward your opponent’s feet from below your waist. A “feet-up” service is what this kind of service is known as. Doing this will give your opponent little time to react before the ball strikes their foot.

Moreover, there are other techniques to bounce the ball before serving it:

The first option is to strike the ball forcefully and simultaneously with both hands. The term “pickleball bounce serve” refers to this method. Using this bounce, the ball will move across the court more quickly, giving your opponent less time to respond.

The alternative is to gently strike the ball with one hand, rapidly turn around, and strike it with the opposite hand. “Flip serve” refers to this technique. Making it challenging for your opponent to anticipate where the next shot will come from is what you want to achieve.

Ultimately, it’s crucial to test several serving methods to determine which ones are most effective. You can advance your pickleball skills by becoming an expert in this area of the game.

how does serving work in pickleball before bouncing
Ron Alvey – Shutterstock

What Makes a Pickleball Serve Illegal?

Pickleball is similar to tennis, except the court and equipment are much smaller. Like other racquet sports, the serve is integral to the game. Please correctly execute a legal serve to avoid points being taken away from you or even disqualification in serious tournaments. To ensure that your serves are within the rules, it’s essential to understand what makes a pickleball serve illegal.

A pickleball serve must be hit underhand (not using any wrist action) and land within a designated 7-foot service area on the opposite side of the court. The ball may not bounce more than once before it crosses into this area, or else it will be considered an illegal serve; however, if it skips across without bouncing, it is allowed as long as it lands in bounds.

In doubles pickleball, players must alternate their serves after each point and cannot “double-hit” them (i.e., contact them more than once). Additionally, if either player contacts/hit anything other than the ball with their paddle during service, then this would also result in an illegal serve being called by officials or opponents alike.

To summarize, on an excellent pickleball service:

  1. It must be done underhand.
  2. The ball should land inside 7 feet on the opposite side of the court without bouncing.
  3. Players should alternate services after each point.
  4. Only one hit per service is allowed.
  5. Nothing but a paddle and ball can touch during service motion.

By understanding and following these guidelines, you can avoid having any of your serves called illegal.

what makes a pickleball serve illegal
LPETTET – iStock

New Serving Rules in Pickleball

Pickleball has recently implemented new serving rules for the game, designed to make it more challenging and exciting. The recent rule changes have been implemented to level the playing field, give players more control over their serves, and make the game more competitive.

The main change is that players must serve from behind a “kitchen line” seven feet behind the baseline. It ensures that servers cannot stand too close to their opponents while returning shots. Additionally, pickleball players can only serve twice before switching sides with their opponent. It prevents any player from having an advantage in serving opportunities.

These changes have been designed with safety in mind as well; since players will be standing further away from each other during serves, this reduces the risk of accidental contact between them when returning shots or trying to reach for a ball near them on the court.

These modifications help create a fairer playing experience and encourage competition between pickleballers of all skill levels and experience!


What are the basic rules to attempt serving in a pickleball game?

The fundamental guideline for serving is tossing or releasing the pickleball to perform a volley serve. The player then uses a paddle to strike the pickleball while attempting to prevent bounces on the court. It is a standard serving technique used on pickleball courts.

What are the three basic rules for attempting the pickleball serve?

In a pickleball match, there are three requirements before trying legal assistance. The arm should initially be raised in an upward arc. The second requires raising the paddle, and the third requires the ball to contact the ground below the waist.

Does the ball bounce first while serving?

The ball should bounce before being struck by the service return or serve. In addition, both teams should ground stroke their initial shot after the serve.

Does the pickleball game allow two chances for serving?

In a pickleball match, each team has two opportunities to serve. The serving side only has one chance at the beginning, so the score is 0-0. When a team loses a point, the opposite team receives its service, giving that team another opportunity to serve.

Wrap Up

Whether you can bounce the ball before serving in pickleball is a significant debate. The response to this query is based on when your most recent volunteer effort was. The ball can still be bounced if it has been more than a few seconds. If it has only been a few seconds, you should hold off until after your next serve.

Leave a Comment